(1904) This house was completed five years after the death of the owner, J. D. Baker, a partner in the Baker-Poston Dry Goods Company. In 1908 Charles, J. D.’s son, dropped from sight while on a family business buying trip in San Francisco. His fate remains a mystery. Local banker George Fant, purchased the home and occupied it from 1942 until 1975. Unique is the threestory turret topped by a “witch’s hat.” The chandeliers in the second story ballroom and other light fixtures are original, but have been converted to electricity. The approximately 7,000 square foot house is classic Victorian with numerous examples of Queen Anne style. The columns surrounding the house, however, exhibit more Greek Revival characteristics.